Can you delete a Facebook group without removing all members?


Wondering how to delete a group on Facebook? Maybe you are trying to figure out if there is a delete button or something so you can do it with a simple click. Well, you can’t delete a group on FB like that, and deleting a group on Facebook can be kind of a hassle in some situations.

First, you need to know that in order to delete a FB group you have to be the creator or the admin of a group. A creator of a group might have chosen you as the admin, so in this situation, you can also delete a group if the creator has already left the group.

Without further ado let’s get right to it and find out how to delete a group on Facebook.

How to delete a Facebook group via a web browser

The process to delete a group on FB is not hard, however, if the group you want to delete has many members, then it might take time. Because first, you need to remove group members one by one. So if your group has thousands of members, then that will be a massive hassle.

• Log in to your FB account with a browser

• Choose the option Groups that is located on the left side menu

• Find the group you want to delete and click Members

• Click the three-dot (…)  then choose Remove member > Confirm

• Go through the same process and remove each individual member

• Once you’ve deleted all the members, click (…) next toyour name and select Leave group > Delete Group and your group will be deleted

How to delete a Facebook group via the Facebook mobile app

It would be a lot better if Facebook had a feature so its user could delete a group with a simple click but that is not possible for now. That being said, if your FB group has only a few members then deleting it is not going to be painful.  

The process to delete your FB group via the app is also similar and here is how to do it:

• Open the Facebook app and tap the Menu icon

• Select Groups then go to Your groups

• Tap Groups you manage, then choose the group you want to delete

• Tap See All > select a member > choose Remove from group > Confirm

• Remove all the members of your group and then go back to your group and choose Manage

• Scroll all the way down and tap Delete Group > again tap Delete Group

Wrap up

Unfortunately, there is no way to delete a group on Facebook at once. So if you are thinking of deleting a Facebook group with thousands of members, then things might be a little annoying because you have to remove each member separately and this will take time. 

Anyway, in this short article, I’ve explained how to delete a group on Facebook, and hopefully, you found the information here practical.

Even cherished Facebook groups. If you’ve decided it’s time for your community to go, you will find that there is no simple “delete group” button. Still, there is a way to delete the group if you’re the page administrator. If you’re trying to delete the group secretly, you’re in luck. Facebook says members aren’t notified. 

Here is how to delete a Facebook group on desktop or mobile, according to Facebook’s Help Center. 

FILE - Facebook unveiled their new Meta sign at the company headquarters in Menlo Park, Calif., on Oct. 28, 2021. A group of state attorneys general are investigating the photo-sharing platform Instagram and its effects on children and young adults, saying its parent company Facebook — now called Meta Platforms — ignored internal research about the physical and mental health dangers it posed to young people. (AP Photo/Tony Avelar, File) ORG XMIT: NYDD201

Talking Tech newsletter:Get the current week of news, tips, and talk of tech in your inbox

How to delete Facebook group on desktop browser

Go to the menu bar on the left and select “Groups,” then click “members”. Here you must remove each group member by selecting the three dots next to their name and clicking “remove member.”  

After you’ve removed every member of the group, you will need to leave the group for it to be deleted. 

Click on the three dots next to your own name and select “Leave group.” This will delete the group, according to Facebook.

How to delete Facebook group on mobile app

Tap the menu icon at the top right (Android) or bottom right (iPhone) corner of the screen. Then tap groups and select the group you want to delete. Tap on the badge icon then select “People.” 

You will need to remove each group member by tapping the three dots next to their name and selecting “Remove member.”

After you’ve removed every member, leave the group by clicking on the three dots next to your own name. This will delete the group, according to Facebook.

Does deleting a group delete it for everyone?

Before you can delete a group you must remove all group participants, and then exit the group. When you delete a group, you’ll no longer see the group in your chats list and the chat history will be erased from your phone. Other participants will still see the group in their chats list.

What happens when you delete a Facebook group?

Facebook will warn you that you’re the last member, and leaving the Group will permanently delete it. Select Delete Group to confirm. The Group is permanently deleted. Members won’t be notified that they’ve been removed or that the Group has been deleted.

Is there a faster way to delete a Facebook group?

You will need to remove each group member by tapping the three dots next to their name and selecting “Remove member.” After you’ve removed every member, leave the group by clicking on the three dots next to your own name. This will delete the group, according to Facebook.



Selengkapnya Disini

Leave a Reply

Alamat email Anda tidak akan dipublikasikan. Ruas yang wajib ditandai *